New NC Law affects boaters 25 or younger on May 1, 2010

As of May 1, anyone age 25 or younger who operates a boat with 10 horsepower or more on North Carolina waters must provide evidence of a completed safe boating course. The course must be approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and North Carolina Wildlife Federation.
Exceptions to the law include emergency use, where the original boat captain is unable to operate the vessel, and a situation where someone 18 years or older with a safe boating certificate or 26 years or older oversees the boat operation. Also, new boat owners have 90 days from the change in ownership before the rule applies, and people renting or chartering boats are not included.

http://www.heraldonline.com/2010/04/01/2059363/nc-law-affects-young-boaters-on.html

Advertisements