The Council for Senior Citizens is hosting its 2nd Annual Golf Tournament, Silent Auction and Banquet on May 17th at Croasdaile Country Club. Golfers will be provided with breakfast and lunch during the tournament. After the tournament there will be a silent auction which will conclude with an awards banquet and dinner. Even if you don’t golf, you can come join us for the silent auction and dinner. There will be lots of fun prizes including a $10,000 cash prize at the hole-in-one contest!!! Wiggen Law Group will be out on the course, although neither of us golf so this should be interesting….
There are several ways you can participate and help seniors in Durham County:
1) Register to golf in the tournament
2) Attend the Silent Auction even if you don’t golf
3) Become a Corporate Sponsor
4) Donate an item to the Silent Auction
If you’d like to participate in any of these ways, contact Wiggen Law Group at (919) 680-0000 or email@example.com. You can also contact Jean Carden at (919) 812-3413 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
You can find more information on the golf tournament here: http://sunsetgolfclassic.org/index.html
And more information about the Council for Senior Citizens here: www.councilseniorcitizens.org
The Council for Senior Citizens is hosting a Caregiver Spring Break this Saturday from 8:30am – 2:00pm at the Durham Center for Senior Life in downtown Durham. Caregivers will have an opportunity for respite care, health screenings and massages as well as learning about available resources in the community. Wiggen Law Group will be there to give a presentation on legal issues that caregivers may face and volunteer attorneys will be available to answer questions. For more information, click on the link below:
One study based in North Carolina found that people receive more speeding tickets during tough times than during good economic times. The Journal of Law and Economics reports police issue significantly more tickets in years following a decline in general tax revenue.
As of May 1, anyone age 25 or younger who operates a boat with 10 horsepower or more on North Carolina waters must provide evidence of a completed safe boating course. The course must be approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators and North Carolina Wildlife Federation.
Exceptions to the law include emergency use, where the original boat captain is unable to operate the vessel, and a situation where someone 18 years or older with a safe boating certificate or 26 years or older oversees the boat operation. Also, new boat owners have 90 days from the change in ownership before the rule applies, and people renting or chartering boats are not included.